Home Forums (POSE) Posing and Directing (02POSE17) Introductions

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Bobbi Lane 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Bob Burns
    Student

Hi, Bobbi.

My name is Bob Burns, and I am from Dalton, Ga.

I have been doing photography for 14 years, starting off with flower photography, then moving into landscape and nature photography.

Two years ago, when my granddaughter was born, I suddenly became interested in portrait photography. At first, I simply wanted to document my daughter and her family as my granddaughter grew up. Then I realized that my daughter and her husband would probably rarely if ever sit for a formal family portrait (the way we did when my daughter was younger).

So I decided to explore portraiture on a more formal basis (both lighting and posing/ directing). All of my attempts thus far have been frustrating. I feel like Homer Simpson when he thumbed through a Far Side calendar: “Don’t get it. Don’t get it. Don’t get it…”

I know that I lack a vision, but I think that one day, with persistence and with courses like this, the light bulb with go off, and I will at last feel comfortable posing and directing my subjects.

I have taken online courses before (BetterPhoto and PPSOP/BPSOP, and I can tell you already that I appreciate having access to all four lessons in the first week.

I am 65 years old. I have no interest in becoming a professional photographer. I just want to be able to photograph my family with competence and love.

Here’s my first question: What is the time frame for submission of assigned photos, and is there any leeway?

Thanks.

Bobbi Lane
    Instructor